Cambridge University Press Award

Cambridge University Press logoInternational scholars who have had papers or posters accepted for the annual meeting may compete for this conference paper award. "International Scholars" are defined as presenters who are non-U.S. citizens and hold an institutional affiliation and/or principal residence outside the United States. A presenter wishing to be considered for the award must submit his or her paper (or, for a poster, the equivalent of a 20-minute paper) and accompanying audio-visual material to the award committee chair by a deadline set by the chair.

The award will consist of a substantial amount of books, chosen by the winner, from the Cambridge University Press catalog. The award winner will be announced at the Society's annual meeting. All applicants must be members of the Society for American Music.

This paper award is designed for non-students. (International students may submit materials for the Mark Tucker Award.) For consideration at the next SAM meeting, one electronic copy,  and accompanying audio-visual material, should be sent by January 15, 2015 to Linda Pohly.

Members of the Committee: Linda Pohly (2014-2015), chair; Renee Norris (2014-2016), Cecilia Sun (2014-2016)

Cambridge University Press Award Winners

Award Year Winner
2014 Mario Dunkel for "German Jazz Diplomacy in the Cold War Era"
2013 Kate Galloway, “Sounding and Composing the Harbour: Recontextualizing and Repurposing the Soundscape and Sense of Place in the Harbour Symphony
2011 Mary I. Ingraham and Michael MacDonald, “Head Hunters, War Canoes, and the Reciprocal Negotiation of Ritual Performance”

Claudia di Luzio, “Open Tasks in Opera: Luciano Berio’s Experimental Music Theater and His American Years”